TestSir Simon Rattle (Patron) is one of the world’s leading conductors and is passionate about music education. He is Music Director of the London Symphony Orchestra and was Principal Conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker from 2002-2018. We are thrilled to have Simon as our Patron.

Armando Iannucci

Armando Iannucci (Patron; President, Friends of Apollo Music Projects) is a satirist, writer, director and producer. His credits span radio, film and television and include BAFTA award-winning The Thick of It, Oscar-nominated screenplay In The Loop, and the Emmy award-winning Veep. In 2017 he published Hear Me Out, a new book on classical music, and released his critically acclaimed film The Death of Stalin. His adaptation of Charles Dicken’s David Copperfield was released in January 2020, as was his new HBO series, Avenue 5. Armando presented a BBC Artsnight programme featuring Apollo Music Projects in 2015.

David Chernaik (Chief Executive & Programme Director) is a professional conductor and cellist. He is passionate about music education and giving children of all backgrounds access to the life-enhancing experience of music, both performing and listening. He founded the Apollo Chamber Orchestra in 1989 and since then has given many concerts with the orchestra – including chamber orchestra, string orchestra, symphony and opera performances.

Helen England (Chair) is a music graduate from the University of York and holds a postgraduate degree in music therapy from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. She spent the first decade of her career working clinically in child and adolescent mental health services, as well as in special schools. She then went on to obtain an MBA and progressed onto executive leadership roles in the NHS. Helen is Vice-Chair of United Response, a charity for young people and adults with learning disabilities, autism and mental health needs, and also serves on the board of The Oversight Trust, tasked with mission and governance oversight for the assets for the common good. She works as a consultant specialising in people, organisational development and governance. Helen sings soprano in Cantores Chamber Choir and has recently joined Bristol Metropolitan orchestra as the timpanist.

Ian Hoggart (Treasurer) studied at the University of York where, alongside teaching and performing, he completed a PhD in Music. Upon moving to London, he embarked on a career change and qualified as a chartered accountant, working for an accountancy firm with several clients in the creative industries. Ian now works as Financial Controller for a television production company. His passion for music remains, and he continues to embrace any opportunity to perform, both on recorder and bassoon. He is also one of the founding members of the London Incidental Orchestra.

Karen Brownlie (Trustee) 

Simon Curtis (Trustee) is a chartered accountant and finance director who has worked in the insurance industry for thirty years but whose real passion has always been music. He has been a pianist for most of his life, working for a few years as a cruise ship musician during a career break from the city, and is currently a member of the West End Musical Choir.

Susan Harrison is the Charity Secretary and Orchestra Manager of Apollo Music Projects and as a violinist is one of the core team delivering the project in primary schools. She feels privileged to have worked in the classroom with the children over the past ten years, as it has greatly increased her understanding of music and communication. Susan is part of the AMP administrative team and also has an independent career as a freelance musician. She teaches violin at the City of London School and privately.

Julie Foord is the General Administrator and Schools’ Coordinator. Experienced in arts management, producing and community dance, ​Julie enjoys engaging with people across diverse creative and health settings. Alongside her role with Apollo Music Projects, Julie is Programmes Producer for Entelechy Arts. In her spare time Julie enjoys singing and practising the piano.

Selina Wagstaff is the Finance Officer for Apollo Music Projects. She has worked in the not-for-profit sector for 16 years, including working with health and wellbeing charities and in arts administration at Aldeburgh Music. She has a passion for music and was a former member of the BBC Symphony Chorus. Selina has an MBA from Henley Business School and is a Member of the Institute of Certified Bookkeepers (MICB).

Gemma Kern is the Fundraising Officer for Apollo Music Projects. Most recently, Gemma worked as a Service Coordinator for Link Age Southwark, a local charity supporting older people. Previously, she worked in a number of primary schools and as Finance Officer at The Clement James Centre, an education charity in West London. Gemma’s past musical exploits include playing the piano, playing the French horn in the Young Northern Sinfonia Orchestra and singing in London Concert Choir.

The Apollo Chamber Orchestra developed the initial pilot for the Apollo Music Projects schools programme in 1999 and ran the programme until AMP became a charity in 2004. The orchestra continues to provide the musicians for AMP workshops and concerts. The orchestra was founded by conductor David Chernaik in 1989, and has won awards and accolades for its performances and recordings, including a CD of Mendelssohn’s Scottish and Italian symphonies described by the Penguin Guide to CDs as “second to none”

Apollo Chamber Orchestra

Elizabeth Pigram (Leader), Robert Gibbs (Guest Leader), John Smart (Co-Leader), Takane Funatsu,, Jeremy Sampson, Lucy Waterhouse, Rowena Kennally, Willemijn Steenbakkers, Philippa Barton, Gemma Sharples, Susan Harrison (Principal 2nd Violin), Joanna Lee, Ginny Strawson, Lucia D’Avanzo-Lewis, Helen Robinson, Michael Jones

Fay Sweet (Principal), Diana Mathews (Co-Principal), Helen Goatly

Ben Davies (Principal), Laura Rose (Co-Principal), Celine Barry, Philip Collingham

Elizabeth Bradley (Principal), Andy Marshall (Principal)

Jane Spiers (Principal), Tim Taylorson (Co-Principal)

Juliet Lewis (Principal), Clare Hoskins (Co-Principal)

Neyire Ashworth (Principal), Victoria Medcalf (Co-Principal)

Rachel Edmonds (Principal), Jo Turner (Co-Principal)

Julian Faultless (Principal), Christine Norsworthy, Jo Withers

Christopher Pigram (Principal), John MacDomnic (Principal), Peter Rudeforth

Danny Scott (Principal), Richard Pywell

Andrew Lester

Stephen Gibson

Matthew Rich, Chris Terian, David Tosh, Rob Farrar